Month: August 2013

  • More inspiration

    It's amazing how inspiration can come from all over the places. One moment I'm sitting at the kitchen table eating my laksa noodles and seconds later a vision came upon me like never before. Of course, this could all be just another day dream of mines hovering over me but for the first time ever I'm so intrigued by this idea of mines that I immediately rushed upstairs to my room, grabbed a piece of blank paper, and started brainstorming ideas. Talk about an efficient morning :)

    To be honest, I'll never know if my idea will work or if this inspiration of mines will even be feasible, but I've just made a commitment to myself to start researching and hoping to one day fulfill this dream of mines. Maybe this will mean lots of hard work and a year or two down the road but I think I'll try my best with everyday that passes by.

    I want my own business. But rather than a business just for profitability I'd like to create one that creates opportunities and fulfills my role as a stewardess of this planet for God :) Thanks so so much to Pastor Chris for speaking such an awesome sermon about "work" the other day. It just completely blew my mind away about what work means to us and God.

    God was a creator who worked hard to build his creation. We were made in his image so by default we all like to create and build, no matter if its just a simple dinner or creating games or even creating businesses and new inventions. But he also was a hard worker that did whatever it takes to fulfill his role. He gave up his son Jesus so that we can be re-united with Him. Similarly, Jesus fulfilled and worked so hard in his life just to receive the punishment He received and end his life by the words "Its finished." - which, by the way, creates a new responsibility for us whereby we need to start and finish projects that we are supposed to do. When was the last time I stopped halfway through a project? Not so long ago...

    What I need now if probably lots of prayer and guidance...because inevitably this business is more of an idea to glorify Him and not really myself - although it will have everything to do with my passion :)

    I can't go into details of what I plan to do but today is the day that marks the beginning of lots and lots of brainstorming, ideas, and learning. Let the new year for me begin :) (even though it's already August).

    Cheers!

  • Inspirations

    I'm inspired.

    Recently I've had more time spent at home after my long trip to Singapore, and I've been able to watch some movies on Netflix (Btw I think that Netflix is awesome because they have a great selection of good movies). I came upon some movies that truly inspired me - particularly those to do with autobiographies or stories based on real life.

    The first I watched even before I travelled to Singapore was the story of Queen Victoria. Although the story was more based on her romance story with Prince Albert, I think that it inspired me because even though her step dad (or her mother's counsellor) tried to force her to surrender her throne, Victoria still took a strong hold and came on to be the youngest reigning queen in history. She then established herself as the longest reigning queen in history also. She created a first and believed in herself.

    Then there was the story of Facebook's creator - the movie called The social network. Even though at the end of the day only 40% of the story is true about Mark, I think the main idea I got from the movie was that if you have an idea and you implemented it with all your might (against financial risks, lawsuits, people accusing you of fraud, or the fact that people view you as an accidental billionaire), good will come out of it at the end of the day. Maybe you will fail at some point in your life, such as how Mark failed with facemash and establishing good relationships in school, but if you persevere then something good will happen. As long as you believe.

    Then there was the movie called "Katy Perry - A part of me". This was the movie that blew my mind. It blew my mind because in a lot of areas, she shared a similar childhood dream as me. As a child, all I wanted to do was believe in fairy tales and draw as my passion. However, for me, I think I gave up my dream and just tried to live a normal life like lots of people around me including friends and family. Fairy tales were no longer a dream that could be reached - instead, they would forever remain as dreams. For Katy Perry, she chased after her dream until she could hold it into her hands and smile at it.

    As a child she dreamed of a perfect romance, a perfect partner for the rest of her life, and a day when she could just be happy and sing on the stage with lots and thousands of people singing along with her. She did that from the first day of her world tour. Along the way she grew as a person, persisted, and gave it her best shot at her married life. Yes, maybe her marriage failed but you know what? She gained a second shot at it. She still has a long future ahead of her.

    But what inspired me the most about these stories was the fact that every one of them believed in themselves. Katy might have been discouraged at moments in her life, but with the support of her fans and friends around her, she believed in herself as being the only Katy Perry in the world. I think its true when she said these words: "Thank you for believing in Katy Perry and her weirdness."

    On a side note, Ashton made a very interesting speech at Teens choice award the other day. He went on to day that there were three things he learned before his name changed from Chris to Ashton. He learned that opportunities is a lot of hardwork, that being sexy meant being smart, being generous, and making good decisions, and that you should try yourself to build life, and not live it. One amazing inspiration that I will somehow take into my life.

    I am turning 24 soon, and with age comes more responsibility. Maybe soon I will be at the crossroads between where I will stay and what I will do, but I pray that God would continue to show me where my path is, and that I can build my own life too - that I can become the only Kathy Tse Ka Yuk there is in the world (no matter how many Kathy Tses there are on this planet).